Free Kindle Books – 7 Free Books For 5-1-12

by Greg on May 1, 2012

Good morning and Happy May Day, everyone. As usual, the first of the month brings us a ton of Kindle freebies. Here are 7 free books to start your day – many more to come. Please “LIKE” this and share with your friends.

Check out today’s Book Of The Day: Darkroom – 5.0 stars!

Please make sure the price says “Kindle Price $0.00″ before clicking “Buy”. If it says “Prime Members $0.00″ “read for free”, it is NO LONGER FREE. All books are free at the time they are posted but are subject to change back to full price at any time. If you are outside of the United States, these books may not be free.



Confessions
by Ryne Douglas Pearson
Rating: 4.5 Stars
Genre: Mystery
Price: $0.00 Save $8.99
Subject to change back to full price at any time.

 

For fans of Scott Turow, Michael Connelly, and James Lee Burke…

Knowing screenwriter Ryne Douglas Pearson brings to life a novel of vengeance, revelation, and redemption.

Three shots. Two killers. One secret that must be kept.

Five years after his sister, Katie, was murdered, Chicago Police Chaplain Father Michael Jerome has moved on with his life. But he has never forgotten that terrible time. Has never stopped wondering who killed her.

And why.

When a dying criminal’s confession points Michael toward answers to these questions, he embarks on a journey of discovery that takes him from the halls of Congress to death row at an Indiana prison, and ultimately leads him to Christine Wheeler. A friend from his sister’s past, she expresses doubts about the circumstances of Katie’s murder. Doubts that force Michael down a path where revelations shatter a lifetime of illusions held about those closest to him, and uncover a web of deceit crafted to keep a dark truth from ever being known.

But every secret he uncovers, every lie he unravels, leads him to realize that someone is desperate for the past to stay buried.

******************************************



Love Letters
by Geraldine Solon
Rating: 4.2 Stars
Genre: Romance
Price: $0.00 Save $15.99
Subject to change back to full price at any time.

 

Bridal shop manager Chloe Rogers will soon marry Richard Foster—so she thinks—until suddenly, she bumps into her childhood sweetheart, Josh Goldman, whom she hasn’t seen in thirteen years. The sparks between Chloe and Josh fly, but Richard provides safety, financial security. Should she follow her heart or her head? The answer comes in a surprise twist. While cleaning her attic, she stumbles upon love letters written to her estranged mother forty years ago from a man she loved. When Chloe secretly brings them together again and sees how much time they’ve lost, she is challenged not to make the same mistake her mother made. Will Chloe opt for security or will she risk her heart and marry her true love?

******************************************



Cephrael’s Hand: A Pattern of Shadow & Light Book One
by Melissa McPhail
Rating: 4.9 Stars
Genre: Epic Fantasy
Price: $0.00 Save $28.95
Subject to change back to full price at any time.

 

“All things are composed of patterns…” And within the pattern of the realm of Alorin, three strands must cross:

In Alorin…three hundred years after the genocidal Adept Wars, the realm is dying, and the blessed Adept race dies with it. One man holds the secret to reverting this decline: Bjorn van Gelderan, a dangerous and enigmatic man whose shocking betrayal three centuries past earned him a traitor’s brand. It is the Adept Vestal Raine D’Lacourte’s mission to learn what Bjorn knows in the hope of salvaging his race. But first he’ll have to find him…

In the kingdom of Dannym…the young Prince Ean val Lorian faces a tenuous future as the last living heir to the coveted Eagle Throne. When his blood-brother is slain during a failed assassination, Ean embarks on a desperate hunt for the man responsible. Yet his advisors have their own agendas, and his quest for vengeance leads him ever deeper into a sinuous plot masterminded by a mysterious and powerful man, the one they call First Lord…

In the Nadori desert…tormented by the missing pieces of his life, a soldier named Trell heads off to uncover the truth of his shadowed past. But when disaster places him in the debt of Wildlings sworn to the First Lord, Trell begins to suspect a deadlier, darker secret motivating them.

******************************************



The Pipe Dreamers
by Sandra Gurvis
Rating: 4.6 Stars
Genre: Historical Ficiton
Price: $0.00 Save $1.99
Subject to change back to full price at any time.

 

Like Kent State in the late 1960’s, Hayes University was in a sleepy Ohio college town. Julia Brandon, an innocent sorority girl, was in for an awakening, both emotionally and physically. Trouble begins when she tries to bail her radical roommate out of jail and escalates as she becomes increasingly involved with the protest movement, which erupts in violence, death, and destruction. She falls irrevocably in love with handsome, carefree, soon-to-be drafted Win, who steals her heart, entombing her emotionally.

Fifteen years later, trapped in an arid life, Julia catches a glimpse of a man whom she believes to be Win while on a cruise. She embarks upon a journey which leads her to the brink of devastation. Can she accept the truth about what happened so long ago without destroying herself and those she loves?

For those who lived through it, The Pipe Dreamers recaptures the turmoil surrounding Vietnam, the sexual revolution, and the rejection of parental values. For those who did not, it’s an eye-opening revelation of what the Baby Boomers were really up to back then.

******************************************



Joy
by Anne L. Watson
Rating: 5.0 Stars
Genre: Literary Fiction
Price: $0.00 Save $15.00
Subject to change back to full price at any time.

 

In the Oakland, California, of 1989, Mirai San Julian is a young woman with a fascinating life and a rich past. She restores historic carousels — her dream career — working from her own studio in a former roller skating rink. Though black herself, she spent her first years in a Basque immigrant community in Nevada, the adopted child of a single mother. And after the mother’s death, she was raised by her Aunt Joy in a Catholic Worker house.

Mirai has a lot going for her — but then, why is everything suddenly falling apart? Her current, year-long carousel project is veering crazily out of control, in both schedule and budget. The guy who dumped her only months before has shown up married and — as far as Mirai is concerned — to the worst possible person. Her mother’s death long ago is looking less and less like an accident. And Joy, the one person who has had her complete trust, may know more about that death than she has let Mirai believe.

Mirai knows how to restore a carousel, but can she restore relationships with those she loves? Can she strip the old paint of past wrongs to prepare her life for new, more vibrant colors? And will her eyes be clear enough to spot the brass ring when it finally comes within reach?

******************************************



First Lady Down
by Daniel Adams
Rating: 5.0 Stars
Genre: Thriller
Price: $0.00 Save $0.99
Subject to change back to full price at any time.

 

When a sniper tries to assassinate the President, but accidentally kills the First Lady, everyone thinks it was a clear case of a bad shot. But as one investigator digs deeper, he finds evidence that suggests the First Lady was really the target. But his superiors ignore him and he has to go it alone. Within a few short hours, he is elbow-deep in government agents, hired thugs, lying witnesses and enough killers to stock a small country. As he gets closer and closer to the secret cabal behind the assassination, they fight back. To stay alive, the investigator goes on the run–but where do you go when there’s no place to hide. Chock full of intrigue, romance, sexy, hot women, action, pursuits and plenty of desk-level hard work. If you can put down FIRST LADY DOWN after you start reading, you will be the first reader to do it.

******************************************



You Make Me Proud
by Umesh Shukla
Rating: 4.1 Stars
Genre: Children’s Books
Price: $0.00 Save $2.99
Subject to change back to full price at any time.

 

“You Make Me Proud” is a heartwarming story of a child and a parent, who leave behind notes to tell each other how proud they are of the other.

We have always remembered to tell our children how much we love them, but its seldom that we let let them know how proud we are of the person they are and are becoming. Hopefully, this story becomes a launching pad for a lot of parents to do precisely that; tell children how proud they are of them.

 

If you would like to have the daily emails of free Kindle books and other Kindle news sent to your inbox sign up here.

Check out the KINDLE FIRE here!

Be Sociable, Share!

{ 3 comments… read them below or add one }

Leave a Comment

{ 1 trackback }

Previous post:

Next post: