Book Of The Day – The Fall: An Undead Apocalypse

by Greg on March 28, 2011

Today’s Book Of The Day is here! The Fall: An Undead Apocalypse (The Rift Book I) by author Robert J. Duperre has a very nice 4.3 star rating and costs only $2.99!

This is the first book in a four part series (The Rift Book I) about an ancient evil that has been unleashed on the earth that causes living people to turn violently insane and dead people to rise up and walk.



The Fall: An Undead Apocalypse (The Rift Book I)
by Robert J. Duperre
Rating: 4.3 Stars
Category: Horror
Price: $2.99
Visit Robert J. Duperre’s Website

 

An ancient evil, trapped in the ruins of a lost Mayan temple for centuries, has been unleashed. It takes the form of a deadly virus, one that causes violent insanity in the living and the recently departed to rise and walk. It spreads around the globe, throwing the world into chaos and war.

As it progresses, those in the States who find themselves far away from the epicenter watch it unfold with unbelieving eyes. From Washington D.C. to Dover, New Hampshire, regular people are hurled into an existence outside their control, left to deal with catastrophic situations that they are unprepared to handle. Life becomes a nightmare, and that nightmare is spreading.

Robert J. Duperre presents this scenario with The Fall: The Rift Book I, the first of a four-part series. In this book, he throws his characters into a gambit; when the alternatives are life or death, self-preservation or the protection of others, what path will they choose? Is there a darkness that resides in everyone, from every walk of life, that is screaming for release? When society falls apart and we are left to our own devices, will we make the right decisions, or let the tide take us where it may? There is horror, there is death, there are the walking dead, and all around are choices.

The novel is illustrated by Jesse David Young, whose drawings capture the intense feel of the events happening within. There are twenty illustrations in all, as well as the cover art he provided. These add to the reading experience and help to throw you, the reader, head-first into the world they have created.

Here’s what the reviewers have to say:

I highly recommend The Fall (The Rift, book 1) to readers of urban fantasy, speculative fiction, paranormal suspense, apocalyptic, dystopian, and zombie fiction and especially to fans of horror. The Fall may appeal to fans of Richard Matheson, China Mieville and Steven King.

*******

I highly recommend The Fall (The Rift, book 1) to readers of urban fantasy, speculative fiction, paranormal suspense, apocalyptic, dystopian, and zombie fiction and especially to fans of horror. The Fall may appeal to fans of Richard Matheson, China Mieville and Steven King.

*******

This is a great beginning to what looks to be an epic series. The story moved along at a quick pace, yet the author did a good job of creating deep and likable characters. The monsters are more than mere zombies. These things are quick and ruthless, creating carnage and gore in their wake.

Get The Fall: An Undead Apocalypse here: The Fall: An Undead Apocalypse (The Rift Book I)

About The Author


Born in 1974 and being a child of the diverse ’80s and ’90s, Robert J. Duperre is a lover of literature in all its forms. Be it horror, fantasy, science fiction, literary fiction, or even romance, he delves into it all and relishes every minute. It is his desire to show this love of all genres by creating wide-reaching stories that defy classification, that can reach the widest possible audience. Robert lives in northern Connecticut with his wife, the artist Jessica Torrant, his three wonderful children, and Leonardo the one-eyed wonder yellow Lab.

Thank you for considering today’s Book Of The Day – Robert J. Duperre and ENT appreciate it.

Be Sociable, Share!

Previous post:

Next post: