Book Of The Day – Skin Games

by Greg on February 6, 2013

Today’s Book of the Day is a highly rated Suspense novel by Adam Pepper. Skin Games has an excellent 4.4 star rating and is on sale for only $2.99 – save $1!

“”Skin Games” is an action packed book from beginning to end; I could not put this book down!!! Adam Pepper did a wonderful job in telling this story, which is a combination of a modern day Romeo, and Juliet and a mob story. You will not be disappointed in getting this book, it is a great read!!! Lenise C. – Amazon Reviewer



Skin Games
by Adam Pepper
Rating: 4.4 Stars
Genre: Suspense/Crime
Price: $2.99 save $1

 

Visit Adam Pepper’s website

When a mafia princess falls for a two-bit hoodlum an unhappy don plays some rough games in order to separate the two lovers.

Sean O’Donnell is a man who always keeps his word, especially to a lady. His good-for-nothing old man left his mother flat. When she gets ill, Sean assures her that he will never be like his father; if he makes a promise he will keep it, no matter what the cost. When local mob boss Mario Torretta’s daughter Nicole falls for Sean, the Don is not pleased, and makes it known that Sean is not good enough for his princess. However, Nicole is in love and begs Sean to stick by her. Once Sean gives his word, no amount of pressure from the Don will weaken his resolve. Sean will endure and persevere to keep his promise to Nicole, and to his mother.

Reservoir Dogs meets Romeo and Juliet in this emotionally charged, fast-moving crime drama for fans of Dennis Lehane, Andrew Vachss and Charlie Huston.

Here’s what the reviewers have to say:

Similar to GOODFELLAS yet with its own voice, SKIN GAMES is a fine example of a self-published novel that’s on par (or better) than anything in the crime/thriller genre coming from big house publishers. Mob fans DO NOT want to miss this. SKIN GAMES is a study of friendship, love, and the power of true self-resolve. Pepper’s realistic first-person narrative makes this a compulsive page-turner full of gritty-violence, seedy characters, and a satisfying conclusion that will leave you thirsting for more.

*******

This book was definitely a page turner. It had everything a great story should have as far as suspense, romance and comedy. Everything comes together like a puzzle in the story line. Definitely a great read. I enjoyed the book very much.

*******

This story was so well written that at the very end I felt like I watched a movie that kept me on the edge of my seat. My kind of book.

*******

Tension, drama and adrenalin burst through in every chapter. While I loved Symphony of Blood, I think Pepper outdid himself. I give out 3 stars really easily, 4 stars not so much, but 5 stars… A novel really has to earn those, and Skin Games definitely did.

*******

I really enjoyed this book. It was like Goodfellas meets West Side Story. It pulled me in from the first page. Great job!

Get Skin Games here: Skin Games

About The Author


At times disturbing and grim, others raunchy and comical, Adam Pepper’s work is known for a unique blend of horror, suspense and speculative fiction. MEMORIA, Adam’s debut novel, reached #1 on the Dark Delicacies Best Seller list and received rave reviews from Cemetery Dance and Chronicle. “Super Fetus,” his outrageous bizarro novella was called “In-your-face, allegorical social commentary” by esteemed reviewer, Paul Goat Allen. His quick-hitting short work has appeared in genre magazines including THE BEST OF HORRORFIND, Vol. 2 and SPACE AND TIME. Adam’s non-fiction credits span from NEW WOMAN MAGAZINE to THE JOURNAL NEWS. Learn more about Adam at his website: www.AdamPepper.com.

Thank you for considering today’s Book Of The Day – Adam Pepper and ENT appreciate it.

 

Be Sociable, Share!

Previous post:

Next post: