Book Of The Day – Death Turns A Trick

by Greg on September 18, 2013

Today’s Book of the Day is a Cozy Mystery by award-winning author, Julie Smith, and it’s 40% off for a short time. Death Turns A Trick has a 4.2 star rating and is on sale for only $2.99 – save $2!

“Julie Smith is now one of my favorite authors. Just finished “Death Turns A Trick” and loved it. I highly recommend this book.” M.D. – Amazon Reviewer



Death Turns A Trick
by Julie Smith
Rating: 4.2 Stars
Genre: Mystery
Price: $2.99 save $2

 

Visit Julie Smith’s website
Visit the BooksBNimble website

Rebecca Schwartz, nice Jewish lawyer with a few too many fantasies, is happily playing the piano in a whorehouse when she suddenly finds herself assigned to make sure a near-naked state senator escapes a police raid. That dirty job done, a lovely evening turns even more delightful when she’s picked up by the cops and spends the next two hours at the Hall of Justice. Could this day get any worse? Of Course! Guess who arrives home to find a dead hooker on her living room floor!

Handsome Parker Phillips, Rebecca’s new beau and the most attractive man she’s met in ages, is arrested for the murder. (Worse, she suspects he might actually have done it.)

On the plus side, another very attractive man is following the case–reporter Rob Burns of the San Francisco Chronicle, a possible ally. And there are other possibilities.

Fans of Janet Evanovich, Stephanie Bond, and Elizabeth Peters will get a kick out of this one.

Here’s what the reviewers have to say:

I don’t usually give a 5 star rating (in fact, I usually don’t rate books at all) but this one deserves it. It is my first Julie Smith novel but it won’t be my last. The characters are interesting and well-developed and I look forward to meeting them again in the next adventure.

*******

This is a wonderful series for the cozy lover. I’m just starting number 5 darn it because that’s the last one right now. Hopefully there will be lots more. The plots are interesting and well thought out…

*******

Great book. Looking forward to the next in this series! Good cast of characters, fast read and entertaining. I would definitely recommend.

*******

I cannot imagine what I did not like about this book. The writing is both humorous and exquisite. The book is replete with clever and insightful turns of phrase. Characters are artfully drawn. The action is fast-paced and surprises turn up at every corner. Sit back, buckle-up, and enjoy the ride.

*******

Death Turns a Trick was a seriously funny book, all while being mysterious and having romance thrown in between the pages. If you like chick lit and mysteries, this book needs to be on your list – or just get it on there anyway! A favorite of mine!

Get Death Turns A Trick here: Death Turns A Trick

About The Author


I first knew I wanted to be a writer at seven, knew it was mysteries I’d write at 12, was desperate to win the Edgar at 13, but became a journalist to…well…keep from starving till I had the courage to actually try it. I had a great time and learned more than ten colleges could have taught as a reporter for first the New Orleans Times-Picayune and later the San Francisco Chronicle. Finally, I wrote six or seven mysteries (I’ve lost count!) over a period of eight years, to absolutely no avail, and was about to give up when I made my first sale. DEATH TURNS A TRICK was my first published book, and the Rebecca Schwartz series was born. I later added a second San Francisco series, plus two in New Orleans, and guess what? My first New Orleans book, NEW ORLEANS MOURNING, won the Edgar for Best Novel.

So some dreams come true! Boy, it was hard, and it took forever, but mine actually did. I’m still pinching myself. After wanting something so much and finally getting it, who would have thought I’d turn to something else after twenty-one books? (That’s right, twenty-one not counting a non-fiction one on writing itself. So, twenty-two, really.) My whole identity was writing. But along came ebooks! Suddenly a gigantic opportunity opened up. I realized I could be a publisher myself—I could help other people achieve their own dreams. I couldn’t help it, I got the publishing bug. Bad.

In 2010, I founded www.booksBnimble.com, a digital publishing company that focused at first on video-enhanced ebooks, but now not so much enhanced as just great quality—and, as you might imagine, with an emphasis on mysteries. So far, we’ve published eight authors (including me). It’s been a treat to learn to function in another whole world and it’s been incredibly rewarding to be able to help other writers, to bring back people’s backlists, and to discover new, exciting talent.

Check out some of our terrific authors–Patty Friedmann, Marika Christian, Tony Dunbar, Anneke Campbell, Whitney Stewart, and Lee Pryor. Coming soon: mystery authors Greg Herren, Liz Zelvin, Shelley Singer, and Mickey Friedman.

Thank you for considering today’s Book Of The Day – Julie Smith and ENT appreciate it.

 

Be Sociable, Share!

Previous post:

Next post: