Book Of The Day – Confessions Of A Call Center Gal

by Greg on July 19, 2011

Here’s another highly rated book for today’s Book Of The Day! Confessions of a Call Center Gal: a novel by Lisa Lim has a great 4.3 star rating and costs only $2.99!

This novel is chick lit at its best. ~Booksessed

Sassy and fun. A perfect escape after a long day! ~Chick Lit Is Not Dead



Confessions of a Call Center Gal: a novel
by Lisa Lim
Rating: 4.3 Stars
Category: Chick Lit/Humor
Price: $2.99
Visit Lisa Lim’s blog

 

A fun chick lit romance that will appeal to fans of Sophie Kinsella and Marian Keyes. Bridget Jones meets The Office. Madison Lee is a fresh college grad, ready to take on the world of print media. But she has zero luck landing a job. Unemployment is at ten percent and on the rise. Desperate and left with no other options, she accepts a position as a service rep at a call center in Pocatello, Idaho. At the Lightning Speed call center in Spudsville, Maddy plunges into the wild and dysfunctional world of customer service where Sales is prided over Service and an eight hour shift is equivalent to eight hours of callers bashing her over the phone. Oh sure, the calls are bad. But Maddy manages to find humor on the phone and off the phone. And with all the salacious drama behind the calls, there is never a dull moment at the Lightning Speed call center.

Lately . . . Maddy has been pining for her smolderingly gorgeous co-worker Mika Harket. Now things are heating up on the phone–and elsewhere. Don’t hang up on this novel. Working at a call center has never been this garish . . . or this delightful.

Here’s what the reviewers have to say:

Funny, romantic and realistic. Lisa Lim is a great new voice in chick lit. ~ Chick Lit Club

*******

There are so many memorable episodes; if this book was adapted to film, it would translate very well on screen. ~ Bookmarked

*******

I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book – and that surprised me a little bit. I didn’t expect to enjoy it as much as I did, because, well, a book about a call center gal? It just didn’t appeal to me. I bought it because of all the great reviews, and I am so very glad I did. The characters were amazing – well done and realistic. The romance was sweet. The calls were interesting and entertaining. The setting was completely different from anything else I’ve read. And it was FUNNY; chock full of bons mots. I really did laugh out loud many times reading this book. My husband finally quit asking me what was so funny. I may laugh silently fairly often, but this had me laughing so hard I had to put the book down and wait to recover. I was sorry to see this book end, and hoped there would be other books by this author.

*******

As someone who has worked in a similar work environment, this book nails what life is like in a call center. The rude, outrageous customers were right on target and extremely funny. It’s great to read about a woman who doesn’t have a glamorous job in PR or in a glossy magazine. The author writes very humorously about life in a real workplace with people who both horrify you and endear themselves to you. Maddy’s friends are great characters as well with their own quirks and subplots that are interesting and amusing. This book moves right along and keeps its humor throughout. The love story within is sweet and realistic. I’m really looking forward to Lisa Lim’s next novel. She’s a great new voice in chick lit.

Get Confessions Of A Call Center Gal here: Confessions of a Call Center Gal: a novel

About The Author


Lisa Lim was a former Copy Editor for Desktop Journal and Technical Writer for a software company. She holds a journalism degree from the UW-Madison and is now a swing shift call center gal, full-time mommy and graveyard shift writer.

You can visit her blog where she writes about fashion, food, books and decor ~ confessionsofacallcentergal.blogspot.com

Thank you for considering today’s Book Of The Day – Lisa Lim and ENT appreciate it.

Be Sociable, Share!

Previous post:

Next post: